

2022 Cawthron Scitec Prize Winners

Science

Highly Commended	Electra Maisey	Rai Valley Area School
Years 9-10 Winner	Keshia Linyard	Nayland College
Years 11-13 Winner	Max Millar	Nayland College
SUPREME AWARD	Edward Henderson	Nelson College

Research

Highly Commended	Stella Bloomfield	Nayland College
Years 9-10 Winner	Femke Kleinloog	Nayland College
Years 11-13 Winner	Ra Edmonds	Nayland College
SUPREME AWARD	Brooke Robinson	Waimea College

Technology

Years 9-10 Winner	Campbell Gallagher	Nelson College
SUPREME AWARD	Max Foy	Waimea College

Art

Highly Commended	Emma Dunbar and	Nelson College for Girls
	Meredith Lees	
Years 9-10 Winner	Mykayla Charleton,	Nelson College for Girls
	Scarlett Delves and	
	Zoe Dunstan	
Years 11-13 Winner	Delta Brewerton	Nayland College
SUPREME AWARD	Keshia Linyard	Nayland College







Special Awards

Agriculture, Horticulture & Forestry sponsored by Tasman District Council

Connor Edmonds Nayland College Fried Green Tomatoes

Astronomy sponsored by Nelson Science Society

Eise Tijsen Waimea College Life on Mars

Aquaculture sponsored by Soroptimist International Nelson

Electra Maisey
Rai Valley Area School
Ocean Temperature and Byssal Threads

Business Innovation sponsored by the Nelson Regional Development Agency

Olivia Smith and Nelson College for Girls pH Paints
Briana Williams

Climate Change sponsored by Nelson Tasman Climate Forum

Ra Edmonds Nayland College Sun, Sea, Sediment

Engineering sponsored by the Royal Aeronautical Society

• Max Foy Waimea College Radio Telescope

Health Science sponsored by Soroptimists International Waimea

Astrid Sayer Nayland College Noisy Classroom

Marine and Freshwater Science sponsored by NMIT Te Pūkenga

Edward Henderson Nelson College Krazy Kōura

Protection of Indigenous Flora and Fauna sponsored by Forest and Bird

• Pearl Hutchinson Nelson College for Girls Urban Bird Project

Science Communications sponsored by Nelson Science Society

Arturo Neale, Nelson College Turbulent Turbines
Max Harrington
and James Wills

Statistics sponsored by New Zealand Statistical Association

Eva Challenger Nelson College for Girls Cubing Conundrum

Sustainability sponsored by Nelson City Council

Zara Leiffering
Nayland College
Trash to Treasure

Te Ao Māori

Nayland College Taea Staples Kia Kaha Mātauranga Māori

Other Awards

Dick Roberts Memorial Trust Awards

Ra Edmonds **Border Control** Nayland College

Brooke Robinson Waimea College Biodiversity in Mistletoe Bay

Best Collective Effort sponsored by the Nelson Institute

Nayland College

Special Award for Overcoming Adversity sponsored by CNX

Rai Valley Area School





















Megan Scholtens

Mo Killip





Dick Roberts Memorial Trust

New Zealand Statistical Association

Special thanks to all our judges, committee members and other helpers

Alec Woods Aleshia Genever Amy Cornelisen Andrea Thomas Aneika Young Anja Studer **Bailey Lovett** Colin Sutherland Derek Macleod Drew McGlashen Elizabeth Bean Emillie Burger Esther McNaughton Frank Saxton Gaye Bloomfield Gerd Banke Glenis Paul

Graeme Robertson

Graeme Rogers Hannah Greenhough Hannah Hampton Hayley Chapman Heloise Pavanato Henry Kasper Honor Stephenson Ian MacGregor Jenny Pollock Joanna Wilson John Martin Johnnie Fraser Joy Oakly Jonathan Puddick Kati Doehring Lee Boyd Martin Love

Monique Dyson Netty Butler **Nevin Amos** Nikolai Inta Paul Lunberg Prashanti Lovegrove Rachel Wastney Richard Bradley Roland Eveleens Sam Murray Sandy Stephens Sarah Johns Serean Adams Simon Childerhouse Stefan Beaumont Mckayla Holloway