









2023 Prize Winners

~ :	
SCIANCA	AVNATIMANT
JUICHILE	experiment

Years 1-4 Winner Years 5-8 Winner Years 9-10 Winner Years 11-13 Winner SUPREME AWARD Nina Cochrane Matanga Marsden Connor Edmonds Poppy Donald Keshia Linyard Clifton Terrace School St Joseph's School Nayland College Waimea College Nayland College

Research

Years 1-4 Winner Years 5-8 Winner Years 9-10 Winner Years 11-13 Winner SUPREME AWARD Lila Johnson Sam Briasco & Zac McCall Hunter Royds & Campbell Gallagher Brooke Robinson Paige Butler Clifton Terrace School Nelson Intermediate Nelson College Waimea College Garin College

Technology

Years 1-4 Winner Years 5-8 Winner Years 9-10 Winner Years 11-13 Winner SUPREME AWARD Ryder Eteveneaux-Birks Will Saville Ivan Shabashev Tiago Lart Charlie Townsend Clifton Terrace School Nelson Boys Prep Nayland College Nayland College Nelson Boys Prep

Art

Years 1-4 Winner Years 5-8 Winner Years 9-10 Winner Years 11-13 Winner SUPREME Ivy Eteveneaux-Birks Jasmine Fowler & Willa McCullough Liv Chapman Uma Vij Keshia Linyard

Clifton Terrace School Nelson Intermediate Nayland College Nayland College Nayland College

Special Awards

Agriculture, Horticulture & Forestry sponsored by Nelson City Council

Millie Roberts & Freya Barker
Hampden St School
Ready, Set, Grow

Astronomy sponsored by Nelson Science Society

Thomas Green
Nelson Central School
Light Pollution

Aquaculture sponsored by NMIT Te Pūkenga

Astrid Sayer Nayland College Disco Daphnia

Bird, Plant or Animal Protection sponsored by Forest and Bird

• Iris Moffat Nayland College The Native Bird Sugar Water Test

Business Innovation sponsored by NRDA Life Lab

• Tommy Houghton Garin College

Fixing a 3D Printer

Climate Change sponsored by Nelson Tasman Climate Forum

Data Science/Coding sponsored by CNX

• Finn Palmer and Michael Lee Nelson College Al in the Home

Engineering sponsored by Beca

Lincoln Fisher, Harvey Newman Nelson College Rocket Stove
& Jake Scranney

Food Innovation sponsored by Plant and Food Research

Aeman Saeed
Nelson Intermediate
Benefits and

disbenefits of bubblegum

Health Science sponsored by Kimer Med

Helena Bieleski Home School A Life with Asthma

Life Science, Biology or Geology sponsored by Soroptimists Waimea

Eloise Gardner
Waimea Intermediate
Tectonic Plates

Marine and Freshwater sponsored by Soroptimists Nelson

Isla Swanney
Nayland College
Dancing Daphnia

Science Communications sponsored by Nelson Science Society

Arturo Neale & Max Harrington
Nelson College
Caffeine Cult

Statistics sponsored by New Zealand Statistical Association

• Amy Wilson Nayland College Are Rich Countries Healthier?

Sustainability sponsored by Tasman District Council

• Gracie Quinney Ranzau School Solar: Blazing a Path to a Brighter Future

Te Ao Māori sponsored by Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Rārua

Orion B Masters
Nayland College
3D Printed Bugle Flute

Other Awards

Highly Commended Class Art Award

STEAMs School

Best Collective Effort sponsored by the Nelson Institute

• Hampden St School Junior and Middle School Class Projects



































Graeme Robertson



Ministry of Inspiration, Mister Science, Continential Event Hire

Thanks also to all our judges, committee members and other helpers

Alec Woods Aleshia Genever Alistair Kwan Amy Cornelisen Andy Clover Anja Studer Choi Fu Colin Sutherland Cora Hertzer Dafni Anastasiadi Dave Sampson Declan O'Malley Dr Greg Browne Dr Tony Cutten Elizabeth Bean **Emillie Passfield** Esther McNaughton* Finnbar Lee Gaye Bloomfield

Gerd Banke

Glenis Paul

Graeme Rogers Ian MacGregor Isla Swanney James MacKay Janja Heathfield Jenny Pollock* Jonathan Puddick (JP) John Wilson Johnnie Fraser Jon Marshall Joy Oakly Karen Linyard Kate Mann Kati Doehring Larisse Hall Lee Woodman Marcus Tuwairua Martin Love* Maureen Ho

McKayla Holloway

Miang Lim Mo Killip Netty Butler* Nigel Costley Nikolai Inta Nils Pokel Patrick Holland Philip Mladenov Pieter van As Richard Ward Rick Kiessia Roland Eveleens Sam Clark Sam Murray* Sandra Boyd Sarah Frost Sarah Johns Thea Karwowski Virginia Watson Zoe MacAlpine *indicates lead judges